drugs

July 25, 2007 at 2:26 pm 2 comments

I work 10 hours a day making sure drugs are made properly, testing them for all sorts of microbial contamination and adherence to specifications. Most of my waking life is dedicated to releasing drugs so that somewhere far away, a sick patient will put a tablet or capsule in their mouth and hours later, will have a higher quality of life.

Why is it then that I am so adverse to taking drugs (legal ones)? I’ve been suffering from some death virus this past week or so and the only thing I’ve been willing to put in my mouth is aspirin to ease the headaches and body pains. There is some inherent distrust of medicine that I really shouldn’t have.

Why do humans avoid healing? We say we want it – spiritual healing, physical healing, all different types. Yet we continue to sin and continue to eat chips in front of the television instead of exercise.

Something is amiss.

Entry filed under: musings.

233 commute

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lex  |  July 25, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    I think it runs counter to our sense of balance. Maybe we expect that healing requires some amount of suffering. Perhaps because legal drugs alleviates some of the pain, we feel like we are going to have to “pay” for the shortcut at some point in the future, to balance it out.

    This is what goes through my head, at least.

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  July 27, 2007 at 4:21 am

    I have taken an antihistamine once in my life. Other than that, no medication. I don’t think it’s necessarily a bad thing to not take legal drugs… no matter how fantastic they are, it’s still not as good as your immune system being strong enough to take down whatever’s attacking you. I am of the opinion that it is better to not mess too much with what you’re given.

    But that’s just me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2007
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

